top of page

When Pinspiration Hits

Do you all sense a theme when it comes to Pinterest? I love scrolling through to find outfit ideas. I hate not being able to buy the outfit, or if I can, I don't think I can trust the company selling it! Not all, but a lot of the sites selling outfits for $10 send something "similar".

Really, this irks me to my core.

For those outfits that do come from a reputable site... well, most times there's just one thing I don't like, I want to change a color, or it just wouldn't look as good on me as the model. I mean, I'm no model, but, I want it to look close! The problem is, I'm not 5' 7" with a slender frame. So instead of buying a dress that'll end up being too big in three different places, and 5" too long, I sew my own!

Enter this month's Pinspiration:

Sorry gals, it's out of stock. I searched for a long time after seeing my Pin for a few years.

I knew I needed to have this for a wedding... so I got to work patterning! The biggest problem for me, was the box pleats (the folds of fabric in the front there). Those things look horrendous on me. I've tried to make them work a few times. Maaayyyybe they would have been alright because these shoulders are pretty wide, but I wasn't willing to risk ruining the Neoprene from Fabric Wholesale Direct.

Here's what I came up with, using a burgundy for a fall wedding!

Keep in mind these shoulders can and do slink down like the Pinterest model! And they actually stay, which I was worried about.

Isn't it to die for??! Plus, IT HAS POCKETS. I have so many plans for this dress. I even once considered wearing it to another wedding! Oh, the shame! Don't worry, I didn't, but I do plan on wearing it to whatever fancy Christmas event I can get my hands on!

Now granted, this may not be my favorite Duchess of Cambridge's specific style, but I'm convinced she'd give it a whirl!

What do you think? Does mine stack up to my Pinspiration? Do you need one? Reach out, let me know in the comments!

^^This is me sneaking around finding someone for the bride *right before the ceremony*, at the wedding where I made the bride's gown! (More to come on that)

Thanks to Fabric Wholesale Direct for sponsoring this blog post, and Dan Balthaser Photography for the high quality photos. All designs and opinions are my own.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page